CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-04-14 - The Taste of Victory

Layout 64/100: The layout has good strong separation between the navigation and the entry. Howeber once you get the the bottom is gets a bit... messy. Firstly the My December song lyrics are nice and everything but I don't think they should be on every page. They take up far too much room, especially when you write larger entries. You have lots and lots of links which is nice to see, although I think a page devoted to your adoptables may be better than having them in the navigation bar. I do like the navigation on the whole however, it could just do with being a bit tider in my opinion. The cursor is pretty cute though, and one of the only cursor changes on a diary that hasn't annoyed me a lot. Ooh but your back link linking to the archives page is bad bad bad. Extra points for designing it yourself though, there aren't enough self designed diaries on diaryland.

Content 46/100: I really couldn't get into your content. It could be the fact you write such huge entries and they daunt me, and the fact that you talk about Kingdom Hearts and anime a lot. As I don't have a huge interest in these things, and I don't have a PS2, it's quite hard to read about them. Points for writing so much, and writing frequently, but it doesn't seem you write much about yourself and what you're feeling. Although you do now and then, it takes a lot of reading and effort (something which I like to avoid :�) to find those bits.

Insight 44/100: The content doesn't really give an insight into who you are at all, except that you love anime. I know I didn't read many of your entries, and as such this review may be a bit ignorant, but if I came across your diary by chance I wouldn't personally be able to read enough of it to find out much about you. The layout is a war theme, which although is good, doesn't say much about you I don't think. An anime layout would be more relevant (not that I'm saying you should change it). However the navigation does contain a nice little bit with information about your likes.

Errors 67/100: There are quite a few errors... your previous link takes you to the archives, your next link takes you to the current entry rather than the next (or perhaps they're meant to go there? I thought it was unclear). Also your cast link doesn't work, and there were so many links down the side that I couldn't possibly check them all, and so I've given you the benefit of the doubt and assumed they all work.

Annoyances 65/100: The adoptables annoyed me. They made the navigation look messy. The My December lyrics annoyed me for pretty much the same reason. The next and previous links annoyed me because I couldn't tell if they were meant to go to the newest and the archive, or the next and the previous.

Extras 80/100: Erm... to be honest I can't really tell> the navigation gets confusing after the first set of links, but I guess there are a lot of extras, but I've marked it down a bit because they aren't very organised.

Total 366/600 - 61.0%

Would I come back? I'm afraid I wouldn't. Only because I couldn't get into you writing style or what you write about. For anime fans I'm sure it would be a thrilling read.

Reviewed by Euan

moo review