CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-04-15 - Collapsing Like A House Of Cards

Layout I really liked the shades of green you have used for your layout, they tie in well with the picture. Since you have a 'Request layout' option, I presume you have designed this yourself, so extra points for that. The picture isn't really my kind of thing, but it is positioned well and didn't take to long to load. I am a big fan of that transparent scrolling entry box, I think it makes a layout look really clean. I didn't like that your scroll bar was all black, it confused me. Your navigation is all very clear, which is cool. That big yellow heading on the entry doesn't really go with the rest of the layout. To bump up your score you could have sorted the scroll bar out, and removed that annoying 'Windows Media Player' thing from the bottom, it's all scrunched up and funny-looking.78/100:

Content I really liked a few of your entries, they were all very different. I liked this one because I felt you allowed yourself to talk about how you feel more than the others. You talk a lot about your hobbies, which seem to be music and horse-riding. I found your diary difficult to get into, to be honest. You have had the diary about a month, but I think you had one before that at a different address, which is fine, but I only found that out through looking at your other reviews. Maybe you should have a link, because it might give people a better idea of who you are. You should maybe try to include more about how what your talking about makes YOU feel, which is what people like in diaries. The lyrical entry here confused me. Because it was the first one I read, I thought all your diary was like that. I didn't understand whether it was a poem or lyrics or just how you felt at the time of writing. It's nice not to confuse your readers, they might feel alienated. Try explaining what you are doing as you do it, that way you won't confuse people.62/100:

Insight Because you haven't had this diary very long, I didn't gain a big insight into what you are like. I know that you ride horses, and have musical interests, and that you want to take up welding. You don't explain why you like these things, or how they make you feel. I have no idea at all who the band in your image are, but the lyrics you have used seem to go well with the idea of a diary, although, you don't seem to be in too much internal pain right now, so I wondered why you chose those words? In fact, you seem to be a quite well-rounded individual from what I can gather, so I don't really think the layout relates to your content. Maybe let people into your life a bit more, and you would have scored higher.63/100:

Errors Your 'Zun�chst' (whatever that means) link does not work. This really annoyed me because I didn't know what it meant and I wanted to know. I couldn't find anything else.85/100:

Annoyances I was extremly annoyed by your tagboard. You had in crammed into the scrolly-box, so not only did I have to scroll that, but the tag-board is set up so the newest entry is at the bottom, so I have to scroll that aswell. Grrr! Also, that black scroll bar and the hover effect you have on your links, it just doesn't go, and on the five older entries part, it makes things difficult to read.52/100:

Extras You have a lot of extras, quizzes, reviews, links, pictures, cast etc. tag-board (even though it annoyed me), is present and correct. Plenty of ways to get in contact with you.100/100:

Total 440/600 - 73.3%

Would I come back? No, sorry, your diary just wasn't compelling enough for me.

Reviewed by Katie

moo review