CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-04-24 - Not By Choice

Layout 70/100: It's original, I've not seen it before. It features Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz, which is a film I love. The colours and the brwon checher effect in the background are successful in making it look quite old fashioned, which I guess was the idea. It's nicely centered in the middle of my page. It would work in any resolution I think. The only thing that bugs me about this layout is that the entry section seems to be too small. The picture is bigger than it, a quarter of it is taken up by the navigation. Also, I don't know why but there is about an inch gap on the right hand side between the in line scroll bar and the side of the template. That could have been used as entry space. The entry section of a diary is the most important, so I think it should be a bit bigger and more noticeable. The "presant" link on your navigation takes you to the Diaryland error page. Apart from that your navigation is okay. I think the links should be a different colour to the text though. The little hearts next to them look nice.

Content 73/100: You are a good writer, there's no doubt about that, but I think you could make your diary better. Sometimes you just write about the contents of your day, which gets very boring to anyone who's reading it. Most of your entries are very short. Sometimes you will quote things, which gets boring too because it's not you who has written it. When you do write somthing interesting though, you write well. Usually quite criptic, they don't describe exactly how you are feeling, you have to read into them a bit. Write more of those sorts of entries. Your spelling/grammar is okay, a few typos here and there.

Insight 70/100: Your content isn't all that insightful, you don't go into the topic of your life very much, but your personality does come through in what you write. The layout suits you to a T. You seem to like all the old fashioned 50's kind of things.

Errors 50/100: The hearts on the older page do not work and come up with "��" symbols. Also the text on the older entries page is the default diaryland one, so you need to change that. The presant link doesn't work and some of your older entries take me to a different layout.

Annoyances 85/100: The fact the older layout came up on a lot of your entries.

Extras 0/100: None.

Total 348/600 - 58%

Would I come back? It was the lack of extra's and the amount of errors that bought you down considerably. I don't think I'd come back to be honest.

Reviewed by Bonnie

moo review