CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-05-01 - Written by a Lady of the Fae

Layout 34/100: Where to start... in theory this layout is good. Theres a good idea behind it. But it just doesn't work. The navigation seems a little too spread out, and I am one of those people who thinks the resize cursor has no place as a link cursor. Secondly the main grey flowers background takes my attention away from the main diary area too much, and also it starts to repeat in my resolution. The entry becomes a bit difficult to read in places because of the alpha effect applying to the text aswell as the background. Underneath your navigation "I believe in faeries" is pretty much impossible to read without highlighting it. It took me a couple of seconds to find the next previous links and they looked a bit out of place with their colours, as did the sign my guestbook link. You did make the layout yourself and you certainly have html skills, but the design as a whole didn't really work for me.

Content 72/100: Your content is good however. You write in a style that although it doesn't tell you much emotionally, it is fun to read and somewhat amusing at times. The lack of emotion is never necessarily a bad thing (why should people be forced to write about their emotions in a diary?), but it does seem somewhat lacking in your diary for some reason. I'm not sure why but it feels like there should be some emotion in your entries.

Insight 57/100: There's not a lot of insight into you really (bare in mind I'm going on your more recent entries), although you do seem a bit mad which is fun :) You certainly write about random thoughts you have which lets the reader know how your mind works.

Errors 65/100: For some reason some of your links change colour when you hover them and others don't. I thought this was because I had visited them but noticed it did it on links I hadn't been to. Also your rings page has an old navigation, and I'm counting the repeating background as an error. And the difficulty of reading some things.

Annoyances 20/100: There were many things that annoyed me, the link cursor, the hard to read entries, the out of place previous and next links and the repeating background.

Extras 60/100: You have a fair few extras and they all work.

Total 308/600 - 51.3%

Would I come back? There's a chance I would because your entries were good to read, but they were quite hard to read aswell :/

Reviewed by Euan

moo review