CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-04-20 - Journal of J.L. Gykas

Layout 64/100: The layout isn't bad, but it is a bit plain. Now although sometimes I am a fan of plain (some of the plainer designs are the best), there was a lack of symmetry because of the tag board. The tag board would be fine where it is but the default tagboard sizes mean that all the fields arent the same width and it looks messy. Damn them. The counter looked a bit out of place aswell.

Content 34/100: Most of your entries were short and/or without substance. The longer, more insightful entries you did were very good, but they weren't frequent enough to bring the score up more than 34. You also abbreviate a lot which made a few things a bit difficult to read.

Insight 10/100: All in all the diary doesn't give me much insight into who you are. I know which "The Cure" song you are, but that doesn't really telll me much about you :) The layout says nothing about you either so no marks to be given for that. I guess you probably don't want random strangers knowing all about you.

Errors 80/100: I couldn't find any... but although it was probably meant to be like it, the archives page was too different to your main layout for my liking.

Annoyances 60/100: The counter, tagboard field width, and the older page layout annoyed me somewhat.

Extras 10/100: You have a reviews page... kindof. It links to your diaryreview review.

Total 258/600 - 43.0%

Would I come back? I doubt it, the content just wasn't gripping enough to bring me back.

Reviewed by Euan

moo review