CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-06-18 - djshorty

first impressions
older.html: Takes a while to load thanks to a large-ish background layout pic. Everything's greyscale or black or red or white. Looks okay on the whole but the links to entries are in what looks like Times New Roman at 11px. Ugh.
entries: Match archives layout. I'm starting with memorial.html

general aesthetics
There's no design credit so I'll assume it's self-made. That means I can take points off. I want to take points off because I hate Times New Roman and it's so small here I can barely read it. Where it's italicised as well as small it's just a blur. Totally yuck and not the slightest bit legible. Gonna have to view source to be able to actually read the entries, and that's just not good, y'know.
-2.5 points

layout
It has some kind of style. The links in the sidebar on the left are good - Tempus Sans ITC at about 11px by the look of it. Links are white but turn red and increase in letter spacing on hover. Hmm, although the links in entries change font on hover. Eww. I really can't tell what the background's meant to be, so I figure it may as well not be there. The entry is in a scrolly div on the bottom right. The div is a good size so it's just a pity that text is both a bad size and ugly as ****.
0 points

user-friendliness
Borderline. I can see the bar of the scrollbar but it's kinda ugly. The hover cursor is a hand but the hover effect varies depending on where the link is. The sidebar links have a nice hover transformation but elsewhere it's just yuck. Also links are all the same colour.
0 points

navigation
Easily found, for the most part. Good descriptive titles on the sidebar links. Forward and back navigation is in a static position above the entry div. Just a pity about those hover transformations.
0 points

continuity
Fairly regular if not frequent entries.
0 points

comprehension
Spelling's mostly good (although "aloud" instead of "allowed" annoyed me), grammar's good, punctuation varies. Prominent ellipsis abuse but certainly coherent. :)
0 points

content
Quite entertaining and very easy to read (cognitively if not physically). She has meaningful opinions and sounds a lot more mature than the "typical" 15yo. I like, I like! :)

There was a buggy in my bed last night. I could hear it, crawling around under my bed with the instinctive intuition to go crawl on my wrist or something and scare the ever living piss out of me. I flipped on the lights and pulled back the mattress but couldn�t find the little bugger. Well of course, I didn�t want to have the damned thing crawling on me while I slept so I went and crawled in with Shea.
April Showers bring..... hopefully something above shit.

It was fun and all� double date with Dacey n her blind date kinda thing named Kyle from Las Cruces whom she met on the internet� or whatever� we all agreed he had the creepiest laugh ever but he was still cool, I thought, but that�s besides the point.
It's not nice to saw off the thumbs of cripples

Sure, its nice to visit, but we ended up in a corner doing a 1000 piece puzzle of some weird thing and it S.U.C.K.E.D. doing a puzzle for three hours. Every time we heard the word �puzzle� for the rest of the trip we�d get all twitchy-like.
I won the misery lottery in Las Vegas

I had a dream I was going to die in three days last night, and I was perfectly okay with it. I went on living my normal life and hanging out with some friend, might have been MD I don't remember, and saying and thinking things like, "Oh I'd better do this now because I'm going to die in three days."
Dying in 3 days

5 points
2.5 bonus points

contact
Guestbook in the sidebar links, email on the contact page (although it's coded incorrectly - no mailto: in front - so it won't actually work as a clickable email link).
2.5 points

link back
Yep, button link on the rings/etc page.
5 points

extras
Hit counter in the sidebar. Groovy. :)
2.5 points

my comments

I absolutely love your writing... unfortunately I don't exactly love your design. Would you consider at least changing the font from TNR to something less horrible? Like maybe Georgia, if you really like serif fonts? Please. Please please please. Because you're a wonderful read and I want to be able to read you without having to view source.

Archive structure is good - archiving is by the month.

scores
Total negative points: -2.5
Total positive points: 15
Number of neutral scores: 5
Final score: 62.5/100 plus 2.5 bonus points

moo review