CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-06-13 - gbg

first impressions
older.html: Faintly lilac background, bordered table, large-ish header pic, good visual structure.
entries: Match archives layout. I'm starting with inconsolabl.html

general aesthetics
Text looks like Verdana at 13px, black on pale lilac. Quite legible. Date, title and links are in italics. No problem.
2.5 points

layout
Design is by kythryne.swiftweb.com, clearly credited. All links are the same colour, though. Bah. Text is left-aligned and bold is used for emphasis. About average, visually, but definitely okay.
0 points

user-friendliness
Good, other than all links being the same colour. Hover effect is underline, hover cursor is a hand, and the scrollbar uses my defaults.
2.5 points

navigation
Links/navigation all in a row above and below each entry, and forward & back links below each entry, right-aligned. Nice and simple.
2.5 points

continuity
Fairly regular updates.
0 points

comprehension
Good grammar, average punctuation, spelling is good apart from a few typos and instances of internet colloquialisms that happen to irritate me slightly.
0 points

content
There is a definite flavour to her writing. I'm getting the impression of a chirpy external personality with a serious person underneath. (And then there's a lot of Buffy stuff; skimming that.)

Curty came over this morning. I forced him to go buy me some take out sushi, and gorged myself out. I expected to give birth to fish, I swear it.
We are as Gods

I'm also joining the Diaryland Top 100 Sites. Because I'm a sheep. Baaaaah. My diary is getting cluttered. Must do something 'bout that, me thinks.
Random and boring

I wear a uniform. I haven't worn a uniform since McDonald's, and that was...3 years ago? It's degrading. Having to serve people I could NOT care less about? Having to smile, and be perky, to people who are standing, waiting at my counter, angry with me because I won't sell them beer at 5 in the morning? To people who whine because I won't turn their fucking gas pumps on so they can go get drunk in the shitty little part of town that has bars?
Trying to get back to where I left off

2.5 points

contact
Guestbook and form-to-email, but both under contact. Full points, I suppose, since they were easy enough to find.
5 points

link back
Can't find it. :( There is a reviews page, and, mercifully, the review sites seem to be listed in alphabetical order, but I can't find ye old moo on there. Poop. Wait - the pending reviews are in a pop-up window. Confusing navigation, dearie. And to make sure the link is correct I have to view source. Hardly thrilling.
0 points

extras
Hit counter in the template. Faboo.
2.5 points

my comments

I realise your current template relates to your addiction to Buffy... but it doesn't really do anything for your writing. It's kinda plain and slightly annoying. And that thing with all links being the same colour is a navigational pain in the ass. Next time you change layouts, go for something that's more representative of your personality, rather than representative of your addictions. :) You're fun to read (though I'm ignoring the Buffy stuff when I say that) - get a fun layout and complete the picture. 2.5 bonus points for being pro-bunny.

Archive structure is good - archiving is by the month.

scores
Total negative points: none
Total positive points: 17.5
Number of neutral scores: 4
Final score: 67.5/100 plus 2.5 bonus points

moo review