CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-06-12 - pashiesplace

first impressions
older.html: Loads very quickly. Some kind of fruit theme going, and I can see at a glance this person loves to update. Woohoo. :) Font is kinda small, though, and being red links on a black background I'm having to squint some.
entries: Match archives layout, more-or-less. I'm starting with 030530_11.html

general aesthetics
Red text on a black background. Bold red text. Decent size. Okay. Centred text. Annoying.
0 points

layout
It's pretty basic - a tiled background image with a column in the middle where the entry and all the other stuff goes. Design by twistedesign.
0 points

user-friendliness
I can't see the bar of the scrollbar, the default and hover cursors are a crosshair and the hover effect makes the links move sideways. Not being able to see the bar means I don't know how long the entry is and I just lost my place in the entry when my pointer slipped off the invisible bar. :(
-2.5 points

navigation
Everything is at the bottom. It's arranged nicely but it's still red links on a black background and the hover effect irritates my eyes. As for links in text, I don't know how I'd spot them, since everything is red on black.
-2.5 points

continuity
Lots and lots of updates.
5 points

comprehension
A few spelling mistakes but otherwise quite coherent. Some slightly warped grammar in a few places, making it difficult to understand which person (mentioned earlier in the entry) she's referring to, but I'll put that down to her condition (very pregnant as of when I started reading).
0 points

content
Quite a lot of blog-type content in relation to the number of entries. For the most part these don't tell me anything useful about her so I'm only skimming them. Frequent appearance of slightly animated images that I can't quite call blinkies. But her actual entries, for the most part, have substance.

So, I'm nervous. I was so ready for Em. I couldn't wait to meet her. We tried for over a year to conceive her so by the time she arrived I was more than ready. Now I feel overwhelmed. I know what to do with a newborn. I know what to do with an almost one year old. I have no clue what to do when they are both awake at 3am!
Shaking Beneath My Blankie

John admitted that he has been distant towards Bridget because of her resemblance to his crack whore sister. Big admission there. I know he is always a bit less comfortable with a newborn but it seemed worse this time. I called him on it last nite & said I thought it was because she has his sisters eyes and he hates his sister. Hell, I'm praying her appearance changes quickly because I don't want to see Angie in my baby!
Chatter Chatter

0 points
2.5 bonus points

contact
Guesbook, couldn't find an email address.
2.5 points

link back
Yep, on the buttons/reviews page.
5 points

extras
Hit counter and imood in the template. Jolly good. :)
5 points

my comments

Bonus points on content for finding time to update with littlies around. :) Otherwise, disappointing on the whole. The lack of a visible bar in the scrollbar made reading this diary an extremely annoying experience, and the red text on black (which was not all bold - some entries were not in bold, which meant I had to turn my brightness all the way up to be able to read them) is purely awful. Not to mention that it's impossible to tell the difference between a link and plain text. I'll assume these flaws are the fault of the designer but the diarist ought to do something about it to improve the ease-of-use of her site.

Archive structure is good - archiving is by the month.

scores
Total negative points: -5
Total positive points: 17.5
Number of neutral scores: 3
Final score: 62.5/100 plus 2.5 bonus points

moo review