CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-06-14 - inmysolitude

first impressions
older.html: Loads fairly quickly. White background, minty green detailing, archives on the left, links and 'chatterbox' in the middle, slightly scary pic on the right.
entries: Match archives layout. I'm starting with 030515_98.html

general aesthetics
I keep thinking "meringue"... Ahem. I F11'd (full-flipping-screen) but the layout still scrolls both ways. That's annoying. Text is Arial, fairly small but black, background is white.
0 points

layout
Design by Couture. It's pretty in a way, but that horizontal scroll spoils it. The entry is also in a scrolly div so I have to scroll vertically twice - in the main window and in the div - to make my way down the page. That's seriously annoying.
0 points

user-friendliness
Borderline as usual: hover cursor is a crosshair, hover effect is a green box with black outline, which makes the links jump sideways, and all links are otherwise brown. At least I can find the scrollbar.
0 points

navigation
Other than the annoyances above, it's fine. Appropriate layout, simple descriptions.
2.5 points

continuity
Several noticeable gaps, some multiples.
0 points

comprehension
Varies. Stream-of-consciousness-type unpunctuated rambling one moment, perfectly coherent and well-punctuated the next. So either somewhat irritating or quite acceptable. Sigh.
0 points

content
When it's coherent it's fine. Not riveting, but certainly readable. Sometimes witty, sometimes amusing, sometimes sad. The sad entries seem to be the most meaningful ones.

My mom believes in all that fengshui crap, thanks to my dad. She keeps saying she can't wear certain colors coz it brings her bad luck. possibly one of those bad day where everything goes wrong. I was so cheesed-off with the way she keep cursing at herself because of colors.
Rest in Him...

i'd better bank in some cash into my account. it's a good thing i haven't collected all my allowance for this month. Or else everything would've prollie been gone by now. so many get-togethers and meet-ups...no money no money!!!
i am broke & fat so i gotta do a 3kg hula loop to lose weight for my audition

It was like, having a hole in my heart. A gaping hole. It's like having an empty space in your bookcase. Somebody pulled out your books while you were gone and you don't know which were the missing titles; something's missing but you can't make out of it; you can't find anything to replace the void. The absence was uncomfortable. The silence (not hearing their voices) was painful.
it's been so long...i've been by myself for too long...

0 points

contact
Email and guestbook, both obvious.
5 points

link back
Yep, on the reviews page.
5 points

extras
Hit counter and imood in the template. Bewdy. :)
5 points

my comments

I would call this "an average diary". The layout is irritating because of the horizontal scroll and the double vertical scroll, the links are irritating because they're all the same colour, and the entries are not as coherent as I would like them to be. I found it difficult to get into this one.

Archive structure is good - archiving is by the month.

scores
Total negative points: none
Total positive points: 17.5
Number of neutral scores: 6
Final score: 67.5/100

moo review