CSS || images || 800x600+ || NS4+ / IE4+
2003-06-12 - freakyblonde

first impressions
older.html: Dark aqua kinda background, a header pic that took a while to load, links on the left, archives on the right. Looks like untitled entries.
entries: Match archives layout, except that the structure is broken, with the entry part appearing after the links. Hmmm. I'm starting with 030523_98.html

general aesthetics
Good colours, easy on the eye. Links and text are both black, though links are bold. The entry background colour is a darker dark aqua and the black text, which seems to be Tahoma at about 12px, doesn't really show up all that well. Adjusting my monitor now...
0 points

layout
Design by vitriol.hands-down.net. A very nice layout, if only it wasn't broken. Oh, but it unbreaks at entry #95. Let's hope it stays unbroken. :) ...Er, no. Broken again next entry. Sigh. But - wait - unbroken again later. Lemme just change those points again...
0 points

user-friendliness
Good. Hover cursor is a hand, hover effect is a dotted bottom border. The scrollbar is colour-coordinated with the layout, but I can see the bar, so that's fine. My only quibble is that all links are black.
0 points

navigation
Various links on the left, back & forwards navigation under the entry. Ordinary descriptive titles for all links. Good stuff.
2.5 points

continuity
Fairly regular updates.
0 points

comprehension
A mixed bag. The writing is essentially coherent but there are many typos, particularly words run together, letters transposed and letters (or whole words) missing. Also a few cases of rewrites where 'didn't' should have been changed to 'wasn't' and so on. Grammar is good, punctuation is good, spelling... erm. More care needed when writing, I think.
0 points

content
Hmm, well. The first five or so entries I read seemed to show real character, but it's deteriorated since then (and so has the spelling, I'm sorry to say). Her personality does come through, though, and she's not afraid to say what she thinks. There is some humour here, and I think she understands herself pretty well.

Yeah, so, um, I had to work today from noon until 4. I got to do all of the usual church traffic which isn't my cup of tea. I had atleast 4 preachers that I know of come in to eat and every damn one of them asked me if I beleived in God and the Holy Spirit. I had no idea what to say.
#101

I went to go get a Peanut Butter Brown Cow ice cream bar and a Mello Yello and my mother is laying in there butt ass naked!!! Jerry farted and I thought I was going to die. Ick. Out of respect for my mother, I covered her up. Damn it. Since when do kids cover up there naked parent(s)? I don't know either, but I think I am more mature than she is sometimes. It's rediculous.
#107

0 points

contact
Email and guestbook, both obvious.
5 points

link back
Yep, button link on the reviews page.
5 points

extras
Hit counter and imood in the template.
5 points

my comments

You obviously change your layout whenever you feel like it so I don't see that there's any point me saying "do something about the link colours" - you'll use whatever design you like and leave the technical stuff up to the designer. Having both unvisited and visited links the same colour is a navigational pain in the ass. I recommend that when you change layouts again you pick one in which they are not identical.

Archive structure is good - archiving is by the month.

scores
Total negative points: none
Total positive points: 17.5
Number of neutral scores: 6
Final score: 67.5/100

moo review